Pinoy Box Break | Pinoy News

Alaska Aces Roster | 2019 Return of the Rivals

by | Posted on: February 14th, 2019 | No Comments | Sports
twitter share button

Below is the partial and unofficial list of Alaska Aces roster who will suit up for the upcoming 2019 Return of the Rivals match.

2019 Return of the Rivals - Alaska Aces Roster
NameFamous Nickname
Rodney SantosThe Slasher
Jeffret CariasoThe Jet
John FerriolsBig John
Poch Juinio
Ervin Sotto
Bong HawkingsThe Hawk
Eddie LaureSteady Eddie
Roel Gomez
Tony Dela Cruz
Jojo LastimosaThe Helicopter
Johnny AbarrientosThe Flying A
William AdornadoBogs
Willie MillerThe Thriller
Kenneth DuremdesCaptain Marbel

The Alaska Aces is one of the dominant teams in the 90’s where coach Tim Cone’s triangle office can be witnessed in its full glory.

Back in 1991, Alaska traded Jojo Lastimosa for their three-point shooter Elmer Cabahug to Purefoods.

Then Jolas and the high-leaper Paul Alvarez teamed-up to grab the first ever championship trophy for Alaska.

In 1993, the Aces used its third pick rights to draft one of the greatest point guard who played in the PBA. Johnny Abarrientos entrance to Alaska was also very timely as their original point guard Frankie Lim decided to join the Purefoods TJ Hotdogs.

Later, Bong Hawkins, Poch Juinio and Jeffrey Cariaso joined the Aces where they completed a Grand Slam in 1996.

In the following year, Alaska struggled as several of its players got dealt to another ball-club. One of those players is Jeffrey Carias.

The Milkmen struggled in that 1997 season, yet they were able to defend their Governors’ Cup crown.

In 1998, Alaska able to acquire Kenneth Duremdes and he was an instant fit to the triangle offense system of coach Tim Cone.

He also filled in the shoes left by Jeffrey Cariaso. Alaska’s supremacy got awaken as they were close to make another Grand Slam.

They won the All-Filipino and the Commissioner’s Cup but because of the nation duty, the team was tapped to represent the country in the 1998 Asian Games.

Most of the familiar names of the Alaska 90’s championship run will suit up once again and will compete against the San Miguel Beermen on February 17, 2019 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Leave a Reply