Pinoy Box Break

Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Roster | 2019 Return of the Rivals

by | Posted on: February 14th, 2019 | No Comments | Sports
twitter share button

Below is the partial and unofficial list of Barangay Ginebra San Miguel roster who will suit up for the upcoming 2019 Return of the Rivals match.

2019 Return of the Rivals - Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Roster
NameFamous Nickname
Noli LocsinThe Tank
Bobby JoseThe Firecracker
EJ FeihlThe Gentle Giant
Pido JarencioThe Fireman
Romy MamarilMama
Wilmer Wong
Rudy DistritoThe Destroyer
Benny Cheng
Joey Loyzaga
Marlou AquinoThe Skyscraper
Vince HizonThe Prince
Jayvee GayosoMr. Adrenaline
Bennet Palad
Bal DavidThe Flash
Jayjay HelterbrandThe Fast

Without a doubt, the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel is the most beloved team in the Philippine Basketball Association.

The man who started it all is Robert Jaworski and most probably the most popular PBA cager not only in the Philippines but also abroad.

Jaworski gave birth to the now popular mantra “Never-Say-Die” spirit back in 1985.

He was accidentally got elbowed by their opponent’s import and he was hit on his lips. “The Big J” was brought to a nearby hospital for an aid.

The biggest manifestation was when, Jaworski came back from the nearby Medical City with seven stitches in his lip to lead the Gins to a come-from-behind victory against NCC. Jaworski incurred this from a wayward elbow inflicted by Jeff Moore in the second quarter. But with them behind by 15 points going into the final seven minutes of the game, Jaworski re-entered the court and sparked a frenzy that to date, has yet been matched. The NCC team simply froze upon the sight of the Big J and didn’t know what hit them, eventually losing to the Gins.

In 1996, Ginebra landed the top overall pick rights where they used to select Marlou Aquino from the draft.

Bal David, Vince Hizon, Pido Jarencio Jayvee Gayoso, EJ Feihl and Noli Locsin formed the Gordon’s Gin Boards where they reached the Finals twice in the 1997-98 season.

They claimed the championship trophy of the Commissioner’s Cup and finished runner-up in the All-Filipino.

Most of the familiar names of the Ginebra’s 90’s championship run will suit up once again and will compete against the Purefoods TJ Hotdogs in a classic version of Manila Classico on February 17, 2019 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Leave a Reply