Trust and transparency is important to us.

It takes a lot of work to build, maintain, and improve a site like this and all the wonderful content you're about to enjoy. We and third parties use tech like cookies to make this happen.

By continuing, you consent to the use of these technologies, and affirm you're at least 16 years old or have consent from a parent or guardian.

Pinoy Box Break

FIBA Recap: Serbia vs Angola Final Score | August 31, 2019 | Group Stage

by | Posted on: August 31st, 2019 | No Comments | Sports

Team Serbia took the first victory of the 2019 FIBA World Cup after they dismantled team Angola, 105-59.

Bogdan Bogdanovic went unstoppable especially at the three-point area as he leads the Serbian squad with his 24 points performance while shooting 5-of-7 from beyond the three-point arc.

Nikola Jokic sparked his team to make an early surge after he was inserted to the floor by his head coach. Jokic had 14 points, five rebounds, and six assists. He made two highlights in that match where he demonstrated his passing skills to Boban Marjanovic and Bogdanovic in the fourth quarter.

The three NBA players had a combined 50 points output minus Nemana Bjelica who is marked as DNP in the stat sheet.

Probably coach Sasha Djordjevic kept him for the upcoming games and will be used as a surprise offensive player to their opponent.

Team Angola shown their long-range arsenal in the first quarter where the score was still close. Angola refused to get buried as they countered almost all attacks presented by Serbia.

However, when Jokic joined the party at the 5:00 minute mark of the opening quarter, that changed the mood of the game.

Carlos Morais led his squad in scoring with 15 points while their naturalized player Reggie Moore was held to only six points.

Team Angola’s next assignment is against team Italy while team Serbia will face Gilas Pilipinas, both matches are scheduled on September 2.

Box Score

Serbia (105) – Bircevic 7, Bogdanovic 24, Guduric 9, Jokic 14, Jovic 5, Lucic 7, Marjanovic 12, Micic 8, Milutinov 14, Simonovic 5

Angola (59) – Antonio 6, Domingos 6, Joaquim 6, Mingas 2, Moore 6, Morais 15, Moreira 8, Paulo 10