Pinoy Box Break | Pinoy News

List Of Tropical Cyclone Names For 2019

by | Posted on: January 2nd, 2019 | No Comments | News
twitter share button

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) has released the cyclone names for the year 2019.

List Of Tropical Cyclone Names For 2019

Here is the list of the tropical cyclone names once it touched down the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR).

Tropical Cyclone Names For 2019

  1. Amang
  2. Betty
  3. Chedeng
  4. Dodong
  5. Egay
  6. Falcon
  7. Goring
  8. Hanna
  9. Ineng
  10. Jenny
  11. Kabayan
  12. Liwayway (a replacement for Typhoon Lando)
  13. Marilyn
  14. Nimfa
  15. Onyok
  16. Perla
  17. Quiel
  18. Ramon
  19. Sarah
  20. Tisoy
  21. Ursula (a replacement for TS Urduja)
  22. Viring
  23. Weng
  24. Yoyoy
  25. Zigzag

According to the data gathered by the Asian Disaster Reduction Center (ADRC), Philippines is being visited by 20 typhoons each year.

Similar to the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), PAGASA uses a rotating list of names.

Yet, for those cyclones killed at least 300 individuals and made a 1 billion pesos damage to infrastructures and in agriculture, then their name will be decommissioned.

Here are the few cyclone names which are already retired by PAGASA:

Tropical Storm Ondoy (international name Ketsana) in 2009;

Super Typhoon Yolanda (international name Haiyan) in 2013;

Typhoon Lando (international name Koppu) in 2015;

Tropical Storm Urduja (international name Kai-tak) in 2017.

In an event that the total number of tropical cyclones surpass the total number above, PAGASA prepares has the below auxiliary list.

Auxilliary List

  1. Abe
  2. Berto
  3. Charo
  4. Dado
  5. Estoy
  6. Felion
  7. Gening
  8. Herman
  9. Irma
  10. Jaime

Source: PAGASA

Leave a Reply