Pinoy Box Break

“Not An Offensive Foul” Says PBA On Sean Anthony-Justin Chua Fourth Quarter Play

by | Posted on: March 1st, 2019 | No Comments | Sports
facebook share button twitter share button

The PBA office has released its statement with regards to the controversial call made by a referee during the NorthPort versus Phoenix last Wednesday.

The Philippine Basketball Association just resumed its games two days ago and immediately a drama also begun.

With just 55.2 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, coach Pido Jarencio called a timeout and designed a play.

The score was at 96-all and both squads were desperate to make a basket in order to make a separation.

The Batang Pier’s play looks like written for Sean Anthony as he was the recipient of the inbound pass and the ball stays with him for awhile.

Phoenix center Justin Chua guarded Anthony after there was a defensive switch. Anthony took a three-pointer in front of Chua.

The shot went in but referee Noy Guevarra blow his whistle and called an offensive foul. The three-pointer got cancelled and Anthony went back to the bench as it was his last personal foul.

The league officials looked back in the video and they admitted they committed a mistake.

There shouldn’t be an offensive foul called in that play.

Upon review of the video of the February 27, 2019 game between Northport Batang Pier and Phoenix Pulse Fuel Masters, the PBA Technical Group had come to the conclusion and admits that the Offensive Foul called by referee Noy Guevarra against Northport’s Sean Anthony, during the last 47.8 seconds of the 4th quarter of the game, was a wrong call.

It was an unfortunate mistake by the referee in calling the offensive foul and we regret the wrong call made.

Accordingly, the erring referee shall be meted the appropriate sanction.

Rest assured that the PBA Technical Group holds impartiality, transparency, fairness and integrity as prime values in officiating and with only what is best for the league and its fans in mind. – PBA

Leave a Reply