Trust and transparency is important to us.

It takes a lot of work to build, maintain, and improve a site like this and all the wonderful content you're about to enjoy. We and third parties use tech like cookies to make this happen.

By continuing, you consent to the use of these technologies, and affirm you're at least 16 years old or have consent from a parent or guardian.

Pinoy Box Break

PBA Recap: Meralco Vs Phoenix Final Score | 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup

by | Posted on: June 7th, 2019 | No Comments | Sports

The Meralco Bolts took advantage of Phoenix Pulse Fuel Masters manpower handicap as they registered another victory, 101-95.

Baser Amer had another stellar performance as he powered Meralco with scoring and dishing. Amer delivered 20 points, 4 rebounds and 4 assists and was later named as the Bida Player of the Game.

Bolts import Gani Lawal continue to be a 20-20 machine as he logged 28 points and 26 rebounds. His defense in the last minute of the fourth quarter was impressive for them to make sure that they’ll bag the “W” after the final buzzer.

Meralco was able to protect their eight-point advantage as they entered the final period.

Phoenix tried to make a comeback as they closed the gap to just a single point as the game approaches the last two minutes mark, 91-92.

However, the boys of coach Norman Black were resilient as they able to make their answer most especially on covering Matthew Wright whose three-pointer attempts were all well-defended.

Newly arrived Phoenix import Rich Howell scored only 8 points and 8 rebounds. According to the tweet of coach Louie Alas their new import touched down Manila just yesterday evening.

A lack of preparation and familiarity with his teammates probably the main factors of the former PBA Best Import poor performance.

Matthew Wright paced the Fuel Masters in scoring with 20 points while Jason Perkins added 16 markers.

Baser Amer With The Floater

Meralco vs Phoenix Box Score

Quarters: 21-19 | 46-47 | 80-72 | 101-95

Bolts (101) – Lawal 28, Amer 20, Newsome 18, Salva 15, Quinto 8, De Ocampo 6, Almazan 3, Pinto 3

Fuel Masters (95) – Wright 20, Perkins 16, Jazul 12, Marcelo 10, Howell 8, Mallari 7, Chua 6, Dennison 5, Intal 5, Kramer 4, Revilla 2