Trust and transparency is important to us.

It takes a lot of work to build, maintain, and improve a site like this and all the wonderful content you're about to enjoy. We and third parties use tech like cookies to make this happen.

By continuing, you consent to the use of these technologies, and affirm you're at least 16 years old or have consent from a parent or guardian.

Pinoy Box Break

PBA Recap: NLEX Vs Rain or Shine Final Score | 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup

by | Posted on: June 28th, 2019 | No Comments | Sports

The NLEX Road Warriors has ended their losing slump against the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters, 100-97.

If coach Caloy Garcia able to remove the monkey from the back of his Elasto Painters squad, this day was the turn of NLEX head coach Yeng Guiao.

The last time the Road Warriors has beaten Rain or Shine was wayback the 2017 PBA Governors’ Cup.

Jericho Cruz who was acquired this second conference was once again the main local player who stepped in the game.

Cruz delivered 15 points, six rebounds and six assists and was named as the Best Player of the Game.

Yet, it was the defensive prowess of JP Erram probably the biggest factor of their victory.

With only three seconds remaining in the game, Erram blocked the layup attempt of ROS import Denzel Bowles.

That shot of Bowles was a potential game-winner for his squad but it seems it was really the night for NLEX.

Rain or Shine rallied from a 17-point deficit to start the fourth quarter. Bowles went aggressive as he took advantage his size against the much smaller NLEX import Olu Ashaolu.

Bowles paced ROS with his 35 points while Kris Rosales added 18 points.

Rain or Shine dropped to 3-4 record while the playoffs hopes of NLEX still alive as they improved to 2-7 slate.

JP Erram Denied The Game-Winner Attempt Of Denzel Bowles

NLEX vs Rain or Shine Box Score

Quarters: 23-23 | 51-38 | 81-64 | 100-97

Road Warriors (100) – Ashaolu 26, Cruz 15, Ighalo 13, Erram 13, Tiongson 8, Soyud 7, Varilla 6, Quinahan 5, Paniamogan 5, Lao 2

Elasto Painters (97) – Bowles 35, Rosales 18, Daquioag 13, Mocon 12, Belga 9, Nambatac 7, Norwood 2, Alejandro 1