Trust and transparency is important to us.

It takes a lot of work to build, maintain, and improve a site like this and all the wonderful content you're about to enjoy. We and third parties use tech like cookies to make this happen.

By continuing, you consent to the use of these technologies, and affirm you're at least 16 years old or have consent from a parent or guardian.

Pinoy Box Break

PBA Recap: Phoenix Vs NorthPort Final Score | 2019 PBA Commissioner’s Cup

by | Posted on: June 26th, 2019 | No Comments | Sports

The Phoenix Pulse Fuel Masters has snapped the four-game winning of the NorthPort Batang Pier, 97-87.

This time around, no more late comeback for coach Pido Jarencio and with his Batang Pier.

Matthew Wright was one of the reasons of their team victory as he appeared to be the answer of Phoenix when NorthPort decided to make a surge in the later part of the fourth quarter.

Wright made 28 points, five rebounds and six assists. Those production were enough as he also named as the Best Player of the Game.

NorthPort played like the tournament’s number one team in the first quarter but in the following period coach Louie Alas made their adjustment and pinned the Batang Pier to only score 11 points.

Phoenix lead ballooned to 15 points midway in the final quarter then their opponent’s late game magic started to work.

NorthPort cut the deficit and they were close as much as three points, 87-90 with less than two minutes remaining in the game. However, that was the last score they made as Phoenix able to recover.

RJ Jazul and Matthew Wright made their last stand and made sure that this time around they’ll pick up a victory.

Mo Tautuaa led the Batang Pier with 19 points while Kevin Ferrer and Sean Anthony chipped in 18 and 16 points respectively.

NorthPort slid down in the standings at number two spot with their 7-2 record while Phoenix has improved to 3-4.

Matthew Wright With An Easy Duos

Phoenix vs NorthPort Box Score

Quarters: 19-28 | 39-43 | 64-51 | 97-87

Fuel Masters (97) – Wright 28, Howell 18, Jazul 17, Pwrkins 12, Mallari 11, Chua 6, Intal 3, Napoles 2

Batang Pier (87) – Tautuaa 19, Ferrer 18, Anthony 16, Ibeh 12, Bolick 11, Taha 6, Lanete 3, Cruz 2