Pinoy Box Break | Pinoy News

PBA Results: San Miguel Beermen Advanced To The 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals

by | Posted on: June 16th, 2017 | No Comments | Sports
twitter share button

The San Miguel Beermen is on the way to 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals after beating Star Hotshots in Game 4, 109-102.

PBA Results: San Miguel Beermen Advanced To The 2017 PBA Commissioner's Cup Finals


Chris Ross who got a stellar performance in Game 3 continued his hot shooting in tonight’s ball game. He finished with 24 points, 10 rebounds and 5 steals.

If Marcio Lassiter was the other local player who helped SMB in scoring during their last outing, this time around it was Alex Cabagnot.

Cabagnot started the first quarter run for the Beermen and logged 26 points, 6 rebounds and 5 assists.

During the first half the game was close until the third quarter came.

The ironic part, at the start of the second half Beermen’s import wasn’t playing due to foul trouble.

Coach Leo Austria deployed his All-Filipino championship lineup with Fajardo, Santos, Lassiter, Ross and Cabagnot.

That combination gave San Miguel its largest margin in the ball-game with 17 points.

The four-time PBA Most Valuable Player June Mar Fajardo took over the slack left by their import and shown to Ricardo Ratliffe why he is called as “the Kraken”.

Fajardo scored 22 points and grabbed 8 rebounds. Those stats are his best in their semi-finals series campaign.

Charles Rhodes With His Emphatic Slam

However, in the fourth quarter fatigue slowly creeps to SMB players and Star took advantage the situation.

Hotshots made its run and closed the gap to only three points 101-98 after Paul Lee converted a side pocket three-pointer.

San Miguel responded by playing slow as they burned the remaining seconds of the quarter and eventually wins the game.

The Beermen will wait for the winner of Barangay Ginebra vs Talk ‘N Text KaTropa and start the championship match.

The Score

San Miguel (105): Cabagnot 26, Ross 24, Rhodes 21, Fajardo 22, Lassiter 8, Santos 4, Heruela 3, Espinas 1,

Star (102): Ratliffe 36, Maliksi 16, Barroca 13, Sangalang 11, Ramos 9, Lee 8, Jalalon 6, Simon 3

Leave a Reply