Pinoy Box Break | Pinoy News

Replay: San Miguel vs Phoenix – 2017-18 PBA Philippine Cup (Elimination Round)

by | Posted on: December 18th, 2017 | No Comments | Sports
twitter share button

The San Miguel Beermen logged its first win right after the PBA’s 43rd season opening ceremonies against the Phoenix Petroleum Fuel Masters, 104-96.


Reigning MVP June Mar Fajardo silently logged 23 points, 11 rebounds, 4 assists and 4 blocked shots to lead the Beermen to another monstrous game.

Although they have took home the victory, the man who is also known as the Kraken have seen problems with their game.

“Ang dami naming bad habits,” he said. “Tendency talaga namin na medyo mag-relax kapag nakalamang,” he admitted, as San Miguel’s 22 turnovers led to 24 easy points for Phoenix.

“Isa yun sa mga bad habits namin kaya kailangan naming tanggalin iyon,” Fajardo added.

The Fuel Masters got buried as much as 19 points but was able to orchestrate almost a comeback in the fourth quarter where they narrow the lead to just 5 points, 80-85.

However, Fajardo and the Beermen are just to strong for Phoenix as San Miguel able to regain momentum and eventually wins the game.

Replay: San Miguel vs Phoenix - 2017-18 PBA Philippine Cup (Elimination Round)

“Yung consistency lang. Kasi didikit kami, tapos pag nagpalit kami ng tao, magbabago yung laro. So hindi lang nangyayari sa isa or sa limang tao,” coach Louie Alas said. “Pag ginamit ko yung starter ko, pag masama yung starter ko, maganda yung ilalaro ng second five. Pag maganda naman yung starter ko, yung second five, magkakaroon ng problema.”

“We just have to find the right combinations. Kahit na magpalit kami ng tao, consistent ka. And that’s my job,” added Alas.

Jeff Chan lead all Fuel Masters in scoring with his 18 points while his fellow long range shooter Matthew Wright struggled finding his touch with only 12 points who shoots 4-of-17 from the field.

Box Score

San Miguel – Fajardo 23, Cabagnot 22, Lassiter 20, Ross 16, Santos 14, Pessumal 5, Ganelas-Rosser 4

Phoenix – Chan 18, Wright 12, Alolino 11, Chua 11, Wilson 11, Perkins 10, Dehesa 8, Kramer 6, Jazul 4, Intal 2, Eriobu 2, Revilla 1

Leave a Reply