Pinoy Box Break | Pinoy News

San Miguel Beermen is the 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Champion

by | Posted on: July 3rd, 2017 | No Comments | Sports
twitter share button

The San Miguel Beermen is your 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup champion after disposing the Talk ‘N Text KaTropa Texters at 4-2 of their best-of-seven series.

San Miguel Beermen is the 2017 PBA Commissioner's Cup Champion

As predicted by veteran PBA Analyst Andy “Dr. J” Jao, whichever team reached the 102-point mark first will win the game. It seems that number 102 is the finish line for the SMB-vs-TNT championship series.

Eventually, San Miguel was the the team which tapped that lane first and surely they have won Game 6 and of course the championship trophy.

Marcio Lassiter went hot in the conclusion game as he dropped 24 points, his best performance of the series. Seems like he reserved his best in the last game.

Alex Cabagnot also made a stellar performance with his triple-double output. Cabagnot tallied 19 points, 11 assists and 12 rebounds. He was also named as the 2017 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals Most Valuable Player.

The last time the Beermen won the second conference trophy was wayback in the year 2000 or during the Danny Ildefonso era. It took 17 years for San Miguel to become the Commissioner’s Cup king once again.

Beermen finished their elimination round with 9-2 record. In the Quarterfinals round they have battled against Phoenix Petroleum Fuel Masters while having then the twice to beat advantage.

They cruised that round easily after beating coach Ariel Vanguardia squad, 115-96.

During the Semi-Finals they fought against Star Hotshots along their tireless import Ricardo Ratliffe. June Mar Fajardo lifted his game both offensively and defensively to match-up the talents of Ratliffe.

The Beermen lost the first game against the Hotshots but bounced back in Game 2. Marcio Lassiter’s winning shot at the end of the fourth quarter was the turning point of the series.

San Miguel won the next two games of the semis and advanced to the Finals to meet the Talk N’ Text KaTropa then the rest is now history.

The other two major individual awards were also given to Beermen players. Charles Rhodes was the Best Import while Chris Ross was named as the Best Player of the Conference.

The traditional Cutting of the Net

Leave a Reply